November 29, 2016

Badin inducts 57 into NHS chapter

Badin High School inducted 57 students into its National Honor Society chapter during an annual evening “tapping” ceremony on Wednesday, Nov. 16, in Badin’s Mulcahey Gym.

“Students are in school to do well and these students have certainly done very well,” BHS Principal Brian Pendergest said. “They have excelled not just in the classroom but in their efforts all across the board. They are well-rounded students who make a positive impact – and help make Badin a great place to go to school.”

National Honor Society recognizes students who excel in academics, character, service and leadership. Wednesday’s event added 20 seniors and 37 juniors to Badin’s NHS chapter. That brings the current National Honor Society membership at Badin to 92 students, with 35 members of the Class of 2017 being tapped last year.

Seniors inducted included Kaylie Anstead, Travis Argentati, Nick Clemmons, Kayla Connelly, Evan Grawe, Jessica Grote, Jackson Hughes, Zack Jarvis, Sam Krabacher, Lauren Krause, Justin Kugler, Meg McDulin, Logan Oliver, Shelby Schmitt, Claire Smith, Sarah Spoerl, Abby Stidham, Danielle Ullman, Nicole Visse and Emily Zhao.

Juniors inducted included Andrew Abata, Elizabeth Arnold, Grace Barrington, Abby Bond, Ben Brossart, Maddie Curtner, Nick Eyl, Alyssa Fischer, Jordan Flaig, Alex Honeycutt, Anna Kiep, Seth Klaiber, Ben Kline, Lizzie Kolde, Kyle Kraemer, Ethan Krug, Laura Lamermayer, Chase Luckett, Chloe Mallory, Jacob Meyer, Shelby Moore, Jon Moran, Lauren Moser, Lucas Nartker, Darby Oliver, Stephanie O’Neil, Kenny Pendergest, Kayla Rawlings, Nicole Rawlings, Jacob Meece, Maria Richards, Taylor Schermer, Jacob Waggoner, Nathan Wagner, Annie Wesner, Desiree Wilmer and Aubrey Woods.

Kaitlyn Dick is president of Badin’s National Honor Society chapter. John Hetterich serves as vice president, Maggie Hayes is treasurer and Matt Schweinefuss is the secretary. Mr. Mark Merz and Mrs. Cindy Minton are Badin’s NHS faculty moderators.

Contact: Dirk Q. Allen, (513) 863-3993, ext. 120;

Additional Press Releases