May 24, 2018

Badin students accept Academic Awards

Badin High students were out in force for numerous honors during the school’s 38th Academic Awards Night on Tuesday, May 22, in Mulcahey Gym.

“This is an important night to give a lot of well-earned awards to our students,” BHS Principal Brian Pendergest said. “These students take their academic commitments seriously, and it’s a pleasure to recognize their success.”

Department awards for the top senior went to the following:

  • English: Anna Kiep
  • Science: Andrew Abata
  • Social Studies: Will Strunk
  • Math: Jacob Waggoner
  • Religion: Daunte DeCello
  • Foreign language: Claire Stiens
  • Fine arts: Maddie Maccio
  • Business technology: Nick Eyl
  • Marketing education: Ethan Krug

Other significant awards went to the following students:

  • The University of Notre Dame book award for achievement, leadership and service went to junior John Berg.
  • The University of Rochester Frederick Douglass and Susan B. Anthony Award for dedication to social and community action went to junior Sydney Long.
  • The University of Rochester Xerox Award for innovation and information technology went to junior Christopher Hetterich.
  • The Brown University book award for excellence in English went to junior Emily Maher.
  • The George Washington University Alumni book award for leadership, integrity and academic strength went to junior Grace Larkin.
  • The Mayerson Foundation award for service learning went to Allison Hammerle.
  • The Bausch & Lomb award for science went to junior Cullen Gantenberg.
  • The Archie Griffin Award for sportsmanship, from the Ohio High School Athletic Association, went to seniors Stephanie O’Neil and Benny Wang.
  • The OHSAA awards for scholar athletes went to seniors Josie Link and Jacob Waggoner. The Courageous Student Award from the OHSAA went to junior Geoff Eberly.
  • The National Federation of High Schools award of excellence went to seniors Daunte DeCello and Taylor Schermer.
  • Seniors Josie Link, Seth Papania and Kegen Rogers were recognized for being three-sport athletes for all four years at Badin.
  • Two seniors were recognized as being National Merit students – Jacob Waggoner was a National Merit Scholarship finalist; and Josie Link was a National Merit Commended Student.

Andrew Abata and Jacob Waggoner are co-valedictorians for the Class of 2018. Abata will attend Miami University and major in Biochemistry as a pre-med degree; and Waggoner will attend the University of Alabama and major in Management Information Systems.

Sixty-five students received college scholarships worth $382,000 from the Hamilton Community Foundation.

A total of 57 members of the class – nearly 49 percent of a graduating class of 117 students – were members of the $100,000 Club. Those students received $100,000 or more in college academic scholarship offers. Those 57 students will attend 28 colleges in six states. Overall, the Class of 2018 earned more than $21 million in college academic scholarship dollars.

Contact: Dirk Q. Allen, (513) 863-3993, ext. 120;

Additional Press Releases