May 22, 2019

Badin students accept Academic Awards

Badin High School students were out in force for numerous honors during the school’s 39th Academic Awards Night on Tuesday, May 21, in Mulcahey Gym.

“Our students take their academic commitments seriously, and it’s always a pleasure to honor their success,” Badin High Principal Brian Pendergest said. “All of these special awards are well deserved for our students. They obviously care about making a difference during their Badin experience.”

Department awards for the top senior went to the following:

  • English: John Berg
  • Science: Cullen Gantenberg
  • Social Studies: Carly Fields
  • Math: Simon Hoppa
  • Religion: Ben Grawe
  • Foreign language: Jackie Luggen
  • Fine arts: Grace Connaughton
  • Business technology: Christopher Hetterich
  • Marketing education: Audrey Neyer

Other significant awards went to the following students:

The University of Notre Dame book award for achievement, leadership and service went to junior Nathan Hogan.

The University of Rochester Xerox Award for Innovation and Information Technology went to junior Will Giffen.

The Brown University book award for excellence in English went to junior Caitlin Savage.

The George Washington University Alumni book award for leadership, integrity and academic strength went to junior Emily Sauer.

The Saint Michael’s College Scholarship and Service book award went to juniors Kaitlyn Robinson and Adam Salek.

The Bausch & Lomb award for science went to junior Sophie Tischler.

The Badin Service Learning award went to junior Kaitlyn Robinson.

The Archie Griffin Award for sportsmanship, from the Ohio High School Athletic Association, went to seniors Cade Henry and Colleen Schindler.

The OHSAA awards for scholar athletes went to seniors Simon Hoppa and Grace Larkin. The Courageous Student Award from the OHSAA went to senior Ben Grawe.

The National Federation of High Schools award of excellence went to seniors Ben Cogan and Andrea Schlabach.

Seniors Anna Bevilacqua and Tori Jarvis received awards from the U.S. Figure Skating Association.

Top tutors throuth the Scholar/Leader Academy were senior Cullen Gantenberg and junior Jack Feenstra.

Seniors Simon Hoppa and Luke VanSteenkiste were recognized for being three-sport athletes for all four years at Badin.

Three seniors were recognized as being National Merit students – Cullen Gantenberg was a National Merit Scholarship finalist; and John Berg and Simon Hoppa were National Merit Commended students.

Cullen Gantenberg and Simon Hoppa are the co-valedictorians for the Class of 2019. Gantenberg will attend a school still to be determined and major in Physics and Math. Hoppa will attend the Ohio State University and major in Mechanical Engineering.

Prestigious “named” scholarships went to the following students:
The Jeff Boyle Group at Keller Williams Associates Partners Scholarship: freshman Jacob Graf
The Daniel Francis Pate Memorial Scholarship: juniors Karla Garcia, Leah Ross and Zach Schuster
The Carol Michael Williams Memorial Scholarship: juniors Samantha Caballero and Regan Runtz
The Paul Seal Memorial Scholarship: junior Caitlyn Conrad
The Celeste Broermann Memorial Scholarship: junior Jada Lucas
The Erin Golden Memorial Scholarship: juniors Alex DeLong and Emari Smiley
The Mike Cappa Memorial Scholarship: senior Abbie Proctor
The Ann Beer Memorial Scholarship: senior Abigail Rose
The Patrick Connelly Leadership Scholarship: senior McKenna “KK” Meyers

Fifty students received college scholarships worth $312,000 from the Hamilton Community Foundation.

A total of 59 members of the class – from a graduating class of 132 students – were members of the $100,000 Club. Those students received $100,000 or more in college academic scholarship offers. Those 59 students will attend 25 colleges and universities in 10 states. Overall, the Class of 2019 earned some $17.5 million in college academic scholarship dollars.

Contact: Dirk Q. Allen, (513) 863-3993, ext. 120;

Additional Press Releases