Badin HS held crucifix logo
  1.  < 
  2. Press Releases  

Sept. 11, 2023

Badin Advanced Placement (AP) students score well on tests

Ten Badin High School students were named AP Scholars with Distinction as a result of testing done in May of 2023.

AP – Advanced Placement – classes are college level courses that offer college credit depending on how well a student scores on the 1-5 scale, with 5 being the highest. A total of 24 Badin students earned AP recognition in the wake of the spring testing cycle.

AP Scholar with Distinction is the top recognition for the AP testing. To earn that, students had to score an average of 3.5 on all AP tests taken and had scores of 3 or higher on five or more AP exams.

“Our students did well,” Badin Principal Patrick Keating said. “AP classes are difficult courses that provide a college level challenge and, in many cases, a college credit for the students who do well. We think AP courses are important, which is why we offer 11 such classes throughout the Badin curriculum.”

A total of 120 Badin students took 217 AP exams in May, with an average score of 3.21. The 10 AP Scholars with Distinction scored an average of 4.03.

Six students earned the AP Scholar with Honor award and eight more were AP Scholars. Of the 24 students who were recognized, two are current seniors in the Class of 2024 at Badin – Reed “Rudy” Joesting and Maggie Peter. Joesting is an AP Scholar With Distinction, while Peter is an AP Scholar With Honor.

An AP Scholar with Honor has averaged 3.25 on all exams taken and had scores of 3 or higher on four or more exams. An AP Scholar scored 3 or higher on three or more AP exams.

“We’ve been involved in the AP program for more than 20 years, and it’s been a great benefit to our students,” Keating said. “They do well in handling the course material and confirming the value of these challenging classes.”

The other 22 students who were recognized graduated in Badin’s Class of 2023. They included, with their current college:

  • AP Scholars with Distinction: Anthony Abata (Miami University), Sydney Boomer (Northern Kentucky University), Emma Brecht (University of Alabama), J.J. Even (Indiana University), Ethan Gibson (Miami University), Mary Giffen (Saint Louis University), Lauren Stidham (Ohio University), Grace Warner (University of St. Francis) and James Zettler (University of Alabama).
  • AP Scholar with Honor: Jacob Fabry (University of California/San Diego), June Meehan (Ohio University), Janie Pierce (University of Kentucky), Ava Wesner (Ohio University), and Nathan White (Wright State University).
  • AP Scholar: Matthew Cochran (Miami University), Teagan Hickey (Miami University), Marie Hootman (Ohio State University), Juliet Lowery (Indiana University), Evie Otto (Miami University), Vincent Pennisi (University of Cincinnati), Owen VanDeHatert (University of Cincinnati) and Zak White (Wright State University).

Contact: Dirk Q. Allen, or (513) 869-4490

Additional Press Releases


Badin Advanced Placement (AP) students score well on tests